How to change the time and date on the DX8000/DX8100.

NOTICE

POTENTIAL FOR DATA LOSS.
The steps detailed in the resolution of this article may result in a loss of critical data if not performed properly. Before beginning these steps, make sure all important data is backed up in the event of data loss. If you are unsure, please contact Product Support Services prior to attempting the procedure below.

Issue

How to change the time and date on the DX8000/DX8100.

Product Line

Pelco Video Management

Environment

  • DX8000
  • DX8100

Cause

Incorrect time on the DX8000/DX8100 preventing accurate video playback on both the client and server.

Resolution

Setting System Time

  1. On the DX8100 toolbar, Click Setup.
  2. Click the System button.
  3. In the Date/Time Setup.
  4. In the Date/Time drop-down box, select the current month, day, and year.
  5. Select the current time.
  6. Click Update.
  7. In the Time Zone dropdown box, select the correct time zone.
  8. Click Update.
  9. Click Apply.
     

Note: The DX8100 date and time must be changed on the DVR itself, you cannot change these options from the Client software.

If a subsequent attempt is made to set the system clock to a time earlier than the current time, the DX8100 server will display the Confirm dialog box, to alert the user. The user will then be prompted to do one of the following:

  • Accept the new system time and delete data recorded between the current time and the newly set time. If this option is accepted, the data is deleted and the DX8100 automatically restarts.
  • Accept the new system time, with the following conditions:
    • Previously recorded data will not be deleted.
    • The DX8100 will not record new data until the system time passes the time that data was previously recorded. For example, if data was recorded at 3:00 p.m. and at that time the system time was reset to 2:30 p.m., the DX8100 will not commence recording again until the system time passes 3:00 p.m.

 Note Warning Attempting to set the system clock to a time earlier than the current system time will require that you perform one of two options: Delete all data recorded between the current time and the new time, or do not delete previously recorded data and begin recording only after the system time has passed the recording time. One exception of this rule involves Daylight Savings time. For more information, refer to Working with Standard and Daylight Saving Time on page 225.