Shared DS ControlPoint settings for all users on PC (Save Global).

Issue

How do I configure DS ControlPoint so that all Windows users who launch DS ControlPoint use the same settings?

Product Line

Pelco Video Management

Environment

  • DS ControlPoint  7.1.90 and above

Cause

New users logging into Windows and opening DS ControlPoint have no site configured.

Resolution

Use the DS ControlPoint Sync function to use a single Shared configuration file on a PC.

  1. Open DS ControlPoint (Start > All Programs > Pelco > DS ControlPoint).
     
  2. If not already configured, create a new system in DS ControlPoint with the settings you want all users to use.
     
  3. Click the Setup  icon.
     
  4. Select Application Settings
     
  5. Click on the Sync tab.
     
  6. Click the Save Global button (no indication anything happens but the configuration file is saved to a new location).


     
  7. Close the Application Settings window by clicking the X or click Cancel.
     

All Windows users who launch DS ControlPoint for the first time on the PC will now automatically load the global settings saved in the file ControlPointCache.xml location.

ControlPointCache.xml  Windows 7 location :

  • C:\Users\egandolfo\AppData\Roaming\Pelco (%appdata%)
  • Global Save C:\ProgramData\Pelco (%programdata%)


ControlPointCache.xml  Windows XP location :

  • C:\Documents and Settings\DSServiceUser\Application Data\Pelco (%appdata%)
  • Global Save C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Pelco