VideoXpert: Managing Users

Issue

Users need to be created, duplicated, renamed, deleted or deactivated / activated.
A user password must be reset.

Product Line

Pelco Video Management

Environment

VideoXpert 1.8

Cause

A VideoXpert system by default only has an admin account for operation. 

How to add a user.

Resolution

Open a web browser to the VideoXpert Core and login with [Username: admin Password: your_specific_password].

To Create a User:

  1. Click the Users tab and then click the Users button. Click New User.


     
  2. Name the user and input a temporary password then click Save.
  3. Select the account that was just created then under Roles assigned to this User click Role Name. A list of available roles is displayed. Select the appropriate role then click Assign. The account will display the assigned permissions on the right.


     

To Duplicate a User:

  1. Go to the Users page then click on the Users tab.
  2. Click the user you wish to duplicate.
  3. Click the edit button on the lower left corner of the window and select Duplicate.
  4. Input a username and temporary password then click Save.


To Rename a User:

  1. Go to the Users page then click on the Users tab.
  2. Click the user you wish to rename.
  3. Click the edit button on the lower left corner of the window and select Rename. Rename the user then click Save.


To Delete a User:

  1. Go to the Users page then click on the Users tab.
  2. Click the user you wish to delete.
  3. Click the edit button on the lower left corner of the window and select Delete. Confirm you want to delete the account.


To Deactivate / Activate a User:
You can prevent a user from accessing the system for a period of time without deleting the user from the system by deactvating the user. They can be re-activated at a later time.

  1. Go to the Users page then click on the Users tab.
  2. Click the user you wish to deactivate or activate.
  3. Click the edit button on the lower left corner of the window and select Deactivate or Activate.
     

To Reset the Password for a User:
By default users must change their passwords every 60 days. Users with appropriate permissions can either reset users' passwords or force users to change their passwords early. Resetting a user's password will allow you to grant the user a temporary password. Upon logging in, the system will require the user to change his or her password. You may want to reset a user's password if a user does not remember his or her password or the user is locked out of the system because of failed login attempts or they let the password timer lapse.

  1. Go to the Users page then click on the Users tab.
  2. Click the user you wish to reset the password for.
  3. Click the edit button on the lower left corner of the window and select Reset Password.or Force User to Reset Password. Input a temporary password as needed then click Save.