DigitalSentry: DS Admin video Storage Options:

Issue

Need to have recorded video be deleted after 45 days.

Product Line

Pelco Video Management

Environment

  • DSSRV 
  • DSSRV2
  • DS Admin
    • Storage Options

Cause

Recorded video is storing longer than 45 days.

Resolution

If a DigitalSENTRY system completely fills its storage disks, previously recorded video must be deleted to create free space for newly recorded video. To determine which video is deleted, DigitalSENTRY follows the following protocol:

  1. Video is deleted if it was recorded while the Force Video to be Deleted option was selected AND if the age of the video exceeds the number of days selected with that option. This occurs even if free space is available.

    Example: Video was recorded up to 35 days ago while the Force Video to be Deleted option was
    selected with a setting of 30 days. The oldest video recorded more than 30 days ago is deleted.Example: Video was recorded up to 35 days ago while the Force Video to be Deleted option was
    selected with a setting of 30 days. The oldest video recorded more than 30 days ago is deleted.
    Example: Video was recorded up to 35 days ago while the Force Video to be Deleted option was
    selected with a setting of 30 days. The oldest video recorded more than 30 days ago is deleted.
    Example: Video was recorded up to 35 days ago while the Force Video to be Deleted option was selected with a setting of 30 days. The oldest video recorded more than 30 days ago is deleted.
     
  2. Video that exceeds its selected storage option—either First Storage Option, Second Storage Option, or Store Alarm Video—by the greatest percentage is deleted first.

    Example: Some video was recorded 10 days ago with the First Storage Option of 8 days (125% of the configured option); some video was recorded 50 days ago with the Second Storage Option of  45 days (111%); and some alarm video was recorded 70 days ago with the Store Alarm Video setting of 60 days (117%). The oldest video recorded with the First Storage Option is deleted until the remaining oldest video was less than 117% of the requested 8 days, and then the oldest alarm video is deleted. This continues until there is no more video that exceeds its configured option.
     
  3. The oldest video recorded with the As Long As Possible setting is then deleted. All such video is deleted until free space is available. If video is deleted before the number of days configured with this setting, a warning message is displayed in the DigitalSENTRY client
  4. The video closet to reaching its selected storage option (as a percentage of the option) is then deleted.

    Example: Some video was recorded 7 days ago with the First Storage Option of 8 days (88% of  the configured option); some video was recorded 42 days ago with the Second Storage Option of 45 days (93%); some alarm video was recorded 52 days ago with the Store Alarm Video setting of 60 days (87%); and some video was recorded 68 days ago while the Force Video to be Deleted 
    option was selected with a setting of 80 days (85%). The oldest video recorded with the Second Storage Option is deleted until the remaining oldest video was less than 88% of the requested 45 days, and then the oldest First Storage Option video is deleted. 

    Video is deleted in that order until there is enough free space to store newly recorded video. If the storage disks are completely filled again, the same protocol is applied beginning with step 1.
    Note: that the storage options can be used either as a minimum or maximum. For example, you could set First Storage Option to a short period for cameras that do not require lengthy storage, the Second Storage Option to a long period for cameras that require longer storage, and the As Long As Possible option to a moderate range for other cameras.

    Note: Activating or modifying the “Force video to be deleted after” option affects only the video recorded after you make the change. Any video recorded before you modify this option follows the setting configured at the time the video was recorded.
             : On some systems, a message might continually appear stating that video is being deleted before the anticipated storage duration is reached. If this occurs, reconfigure the camera record settings or storage rules, or add more storage capacity to the system.
 
 
The video closest to reaching its selected storage option (as a percentage of The video closest to reaching its selected storage option (as a percentage of the optionThe video closest to reaching its selected storage option (as a percentage of the option
Video is deleted if it was recorded while the Force Video to be Deleted option was selected ANif the age of the video exceeds the number of days selected with that option. This occurs even if