How to backup/import system configuration settings for Digital Sentry DVR/HVR/NVS?

NOTICE

POTENTIAL FOR DATA LOSS.
The steps detailed in the resolution of this article may result in a loss of critical data if not performed properly. Before beginning these steps, make sure all important data is backed up in the event of data loss. If you are unsure, please contact Product Support Services prior to attempting the procedure below.

Issue

How to backup/import the configuration settings on the Digital Sentry DVR/HVR/NVS?

Product Line

Pelco Video Management

Environment

  • DSSRV
  • DS NVs
  • DS NVR
  • DS HVR
  • DigitalSentry
  • DS

Cause

Backup or Restore Configuration of Digital Sentry system.

Resolution

DigitalSENTRY systems use a program called DS Backup to make a backup copy of the configuration database.

NOTES:

  • DS database can only be imported to the same version of DS Admin or newer. i.e. Database v7.4.x can be imported to DS Admin v7.6.32
  • DS Backup is designed to back up a working database and copy all DigitalSENTRY configuration settings contained in DS Admin (camera name's, camera schedules, user accounts, IP Camera license)
  • All Windows settings hostname/IP address and any other settings will need to be manually re-entered if performing a recovery/reimage of Windows.
  • When importing a back up verify that the hostname/IP address and drives letters are the same when the backup was created.
  • Pelco strongly recommends importing to the same system. Make sure to keep the same Windows OS version.
  • DS Services will stop during the upgrade process, live and record video will be offline until the upgrade is complete.
  • If running a system recovery / image:  Make sure to copy the settings backup to some type of external media. The C:\ drive will be overwritten during the recovery process.
  • DS Backup stops all recording services during the archive or restore process, this results in live and recorded video being offline untill the process is complete.

 



To backup settings perform the following:

  1. Go to Start  Programs > Pelco > choose DSBackup.
  2. The Backup Manager application box will appear.


     
  3. Verify that all client software (DS Admin or DS ControlPoint) is closed.
  4. Create a new folder on the Desktop which will house the database backup (recommend adding the DS software version in the name for future reference..e.g. "Database backup site name v7.14").
  5. Locate the created backup folder by clicking the Browse button at the top of the screen under "Archive Location", in the popup window scroll down and locate the created folder.
  6. Once you have established the archive location, click the Archive Current Settings button..
  7. The Current Status is displayed at the bottom of DSBackup.
  8. When the process is completed, the Current Status will state Archive Complete.
     

To restore settings perform the following:

  1. Verify the computer name and IP address of the restore system matches the archive system computer name and IP address. The original computer name and IP address can be located in the archived folder by double-clicking the DS_Network_Settings.txt file.
  2. Click the Browse button at the top of the screen located under "Archive Location".
  3. Navigate to the folder containing you're archived settings and select (this is done through the top-most Browse button under the Archive Location section).
  4. Once you have located the archived settings, click the Restore Archived Settings button under the Restore section of Backup Manager.
  5. The Current Status is displayed at the bottom of DSBackup.
  6. When the process is completed, the current status will state Restore Complete.

 

Related Articles:

DS Backup v7.2 fails to Archive or Restore a settings backup