Not all changes in a Notes file are saved. If opening and edit a Notes file, save and then continue writing only the changes before the save will be changed.
The Notes file will only be saved once then you need to close it and open it again.
When editing a Notes file only save once then close the file. If you need to write some more close the file and open it again.