I/NET Seven Recycle Bin Features

Issue

I/NET Seven Recycle Bin Features

Product Line

TAC I/NET

Environment

I/NET Seven site with Access Control

Cause

Explaining  Access Control Recycle Bin provides a temporary storage location for deleted individuals, groups, and tenant records

Resolution

There is a new feature in I/NET Seven when enabled in Access Control Options. The Access Control Recycle Bin provides a temporary storage location for deleted individuals, groups, and tenant records. When one of these records is moved to the Recycle Bin, it no longer appears in any editors or summaries.

Recycle bin records can later be restored, or they can be permanently purged from the system.

Access to the Recycle Bin editor is restricted to users with proper permissions. This allows your system to be configured in such a way that only select operators are allowed to delete, restore, or purge records.

Deleting a Group

When you delete a group to the recycle bin, the following information is retained within a single Recycle Bin record:

  1. The group’s door assignments
  2. The group’s links to other groups

The recycle bin does not retain references to a deleted group. Therefore, if you delete a group that is assigned to an individual, or that is being referenced by another group, the links to the group will be destroyed. Even though you can restore the group later, the previous links to this group will not be restored (i.e. individuals who were a member of the group before it was deleted will not automatically become a member of the group again when it is recovered). The system alerts you of this functionality by displaying a warning when you attempt to delete the group. This allows you to cancel the delete request if necessary.

Deleting an Individual

When you delete an individual to the recycle bin, the following information is retained within a single recycle bin record:

The individual record:

  1. The individual’s key/card assignment
  2. The individual’s tenant assignment
  3. The individual’s door and group assignments

Deleting a Tenant

When you delete a tenant to the recycle bin, all of its groups and individuals are also deleted to the recycle bin and linked to the deleted tenant. The following information is retained within a single recycle bin record:

The tenant record

  1. The tenant’s door assignments
  2. The tenant’s individuals and groups

Recovering Records from the Recycle Bin

The recover operation recreates an active record from the information stored in the recycle bin. Only a single record at a time can be restored. However, when you restore a deleted tenant, any groups and individuals that were defined for that tenant are also restored. Refer to Recycle Bin Editor for more information.

Purging Records

You can permanently delete access control records contained in the recycle bin by purging them. Once purged, these records no longer exist and therefore, they cannot be restored.

I/NET offers you the following three methods for purging records from the recycle bin:

  1. Open the recycle bin and purge selected records directly. Refer to Recycle Bin Editor for more information:
  2. Configure I/NET to automatically purge records that have been in the recycle bin for a specified number of days. This function runs every 60 seconds. It uses the deletion time and date stamp contained in each recycle bin record to determine whether or not the record should be purged.
  3. Configure I/NET to automatically purge all recycle bin records at log off. Records can be purged silently at log off, or you can configure the system to first prompt the user. When prompted, the user can choose whether or not to purge the recycle bin. The prompt also allows the user to turn off future prompting and allow the system to silently purge the recycle bin at log off.